Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: SpeedLight Questions...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    North East, UK
    Posts
    20

    SpeedLight Questions...

    Ive currently got a Canon Speedlight 270EXII and a Speedlight 320EX, I was in a photography store in Durham the other day and i was asking about remote firing of these 2 piticular flash guns. The guy at the store said that i didnt need any reciver or sender unit for the camera/flashguns as they fire with the intense light flash from eachother, ie: 320EX on the floor and 270EXII on camera hotshoe. Ive since came home and tried this but to no avail and cannot find any articles online regarding this! Can anyone help?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Near Wakefield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    3,623

    Re: SpeedLight Questions...

    As far as I am aware there is no optical slave on any of the canon speed lights. He may have been thinking of the Nikon ones, which i think do have this.
    Phil Winterbourne

    http://www.philwinterbourne.co.uk http://www.philwinterbourne.co.uk

    "Live fast....... Die Old!."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Dundee, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    15,622

    Re: SpeedLight Questions...

    Your 320EX and 270EX II units can act as slaves but not as masters, you will need a higher specification speedlite, like the 550EX/580EX series. Have a look at the following pages from EOS Magazine http://www.eos-magazine.com/EOS%20lenses%20and%20Speedlites/EOS%20system/Lenses/Speedlites/speedlitedirecto.html
    Bawbee BSRIPN

    Life, is only as complicated, or as serious, as you want it to be - your choice.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    North East, UK
    Posts
    20

    Re: SpeedLight Questions...

    Yeah, thank you PhilW and Bawbee. Thats what I originally thought but when i asked about buying a master unit (Canon Speedlite Transmitter ST-E2) he told me otherwise :/ guy obviously must of got himself a little confused.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Everywhere and nowhere, baby
    Posts
    51,670

    Re: SpeedLight Questions...

    Quote Originally Posted by NJK View Post
    Yeah, thank you PhilW and Bawbee. Thats what I originally thought but when i asked about buying a master unit (Canon Speedlite Transmitter ST-E2) he told me otherwise :/ guy obviously must of got himself a little confused.
    Which camera do you have? The latest Canons can use their built-in flashes as masters.
    Nick

    "Photography is lies" - Bailey
    "Few artists are much more than halfway sane" - Roger Hicks

    The Blog is (coming) back http://www.nbrphoto.net/blog/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    North East, UK
    Posts
    20

    Re: SpeedLight Questions...

    I have a 500D.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,917

    Re: SpeedLight Questions...

    The 500D can't fire remotly you need 600D, 60D or 7D to do that. That said you could go for radio triggers, there are lots of pretty good ones out there that won't cost to much. Something like the Yongnuo RF-602 Flash Trigger f ex.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    North East, UK
    Posts
    20

    Re: SpeedLight Questions...

    Thank you Snorri, I've had a look at the Yongnuo RF-602 and im going to purchase one to give it it a try! Found them on eBay for 20! Only bad point is the delivery times They are worth a try before splashing out on the Canon one!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •